Shaxi Old Theatre Inn
Duan Jia Deng Village, Ville Shaxi, Village de Duan
Shaxi, Jianchuan, 671302, Chine
+86 872 4722 296

Le bouddhisme ésotérique dans la région de Dali

Anciennes traditions religieuses se rencontrent au Temple Verger de Poiriers

  • 石钟寺 - 慈荫庵 之路- 云南沙溪

Dali a une forme unique de la pratique tantrique bouddhiste appelé Acarya, qui remonte au 9ème siècle, trouve son origine dans l'Inde, et figure en bonne place la déesse de la miséricorde Acuoye, représentation dans les grottes de Shibaoshan sculptée il y a 1100 ans.

D'où vient-il?

  • 纳西天坛之路 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

Le bouddhisme est originaire du nord de l'Inde dans le 5ème siècle avant notre ère, dont l'histoire remonte à Siddhartha Gautama, généralement appelé le Bouddha. Au cours de ses 2500 ans le bouddhisme a évolué et se propager dans toute l'Asie, avec trois branches principales de la tradition: Theravada (en Asie du Sud-est), Mahayana (en Asie du Nord-est) et Vajrayana (au Tibet).

Le bouddhisme est venu à Dali le long de la Horse Road Tea, aussi connu comme la route de la Soie du Sud, qui reliait l'Inde, le Tibet et l'Asie du Sud-est.

Dali a joué un rôle clé dans la propagation du bouddhisme de l'Inde à la Chine, et son Nanzhao (738-902) et Dali (937-1253) royaumes étaient remarquables pour préserver le bouddhisme et aussi la construction de grands temples dont les Dali Trois Pagodes et Shibaoshan grottes proches Shaxi, qui sont devenues des centres importants pour l'enseignement bouddhiste.

Selon des documents anciens, un moine indien mystique appelé Zhang Tor Jie Duo est crédité d'apporter le bouddhisme à Nanzhao royaume de Yunnan en 840. A partir du 9ème siècle avant à la fin du royaume de Dali en 1253, une nouvelle marque puissante branche du bouddhisme tantrique formé et développé en une religion royaume entier.

Plus tard, Zhang Jie Tor Duo est devenu considéré comme une manifestation de la «seigneur de la compassion» Acuoye Avalokitesvara (surnommé le Dali Guan Yin ou une déesse de la miséricorde), qui est la principale figure religieuse vénérée dans toute Nanzhao et Dali royaumes.

La branche Acarya du bouddhisme tantrique ou ésotérique originaire de l'Inde, et il a été mélangé avec le cas à ses débuts a été fusionné avec le brahmanisme, la religion sacerdotale au début de l'Inde, qui a évolué dans l'hindouisme.
Acarya appartient à la tradition Mahayana du bouddhisme. Bouddhisme mahayana était, une interprétation plus libérale accessible du bouddhisme, ouvert aux personnes de tous les horizons de la vie, et pas seulement des moines ou ascètes.

Acarya est un mot sanskrit qui signifie enseignant ou victorieuse, et à Dali il est devenu connu sous le terme de minorité Bai 'A-Zha-Li ». A-Zha-Li initialement appelé le maître qui a effectué les rites et les cérémonies de cette branche du bouddhisme, mais plus tard, le nom a été utilisé pour les habitants de se référer à cette pratique.

What is unique about Acarya Tantric Buddhism?

  • Acuoye Avalokitesvara 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

1. La dévotion à Acuoye
De nombreux cultes bouddhistes développés au cours des près de cinq siècles de l'Nanzhao et Dali royaumes, mais Acuoye Avalokitesvara sous diverses formes a été la figure dominante et la mise au point de la dévotion. L'une des raisons en était le rôle clé de Acouye dans les deux affaires politiques et spirituels. Il y avait un lien étroit entre les dirigeants du royaume Nanzhao et Acuoye dans l'établissement de l'Etat et la religion, avec Acuoye mettant en vedette dans les récits fondateurs du royaume, aider à légitimer la lignée royale.

Selon les récits folkloriques, Acuoye arrivé dans la région Dali avant même la création du royaume de Nanzhao, la désignation de son premier souverain et fournir une protection pour le royaume.Il y avait une croyance que la lignée royale a été approuvé par Acuoye, et que les dirigeants et leurs descendants étaient liés à Acuoye. La classe dirigeante a construit le temple emblématique des Trois Pagodes en l'honneur de Acuoye.
Acuoye est considéré comme le premier dieu de manifester pour apporter le bouddhisme au peuple Bai, mais il y a un débat sur l'endroit où Acuoye provenait en fait de. Alors que de nombreux chercheurs pensent Acuoye est juste une autre manifestation de la bodhisattva Mahayana de l'Inde, il est conjecture que ce chiffre de compassion venus d'Asie du Sud-Est à la place. Certains chercheurs pensent que Acuoye venu de Malaisie ou l'Indonésie, quand dans le 9ème siècle l'un des rois Nanzhao reçu une épouse d' 'le domaine de Kunlun ".

  • 大黑天神 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

2. Dieu de Ciel Noir
Alors que Acuoye occupe une position centrale dans l'A-Zha-Li, d'autres cultes de bouddhisme ésotérique élaborés sous les royaumes Nanzhao et Dali, y compris les divinités protectrices et courroucées. En second lieu seulement à Acuoye en popularité et la dévotion est Mahakala, le dieu Black Sky en chinois, un démon et divinité protectrice divine pour Acarya bouddhisme tantrique. Makakala est en fait la manifestation du dieu hindou Shiva. Dans toute la région Dali nombreux villages le considèrent comme leur protecteur local, ou «ben zhu».

  • Feng Yi Village Erhai Dali

3. rôle unique dans la société et héritabilité de l'état
Alors que de nombreuses traditions bouddhistes requis une vie séparée pour les disciples religieux de laïcs, les praticiens A-Zha-Li ont pu se marier et de maintenir une vie de famille normale. Une des raisons pourrait être retracée à l'établissement de Acarya à Dali, avec Nanzhao roi Qu Feng permettant sa sœur de se marier missionnaire indien Zhang Jie Tor Duo qui a apporté le bouddhisme tantrique dans la région en 840 AD.A-Zha-Li maîtres et leurs descendants ont pu continuer ce mode de vie avec son intégration dans la vie normale. En Feng Yi village près du lac Erhai cette tradition de la lignée a duré pendant 42 générations au sein de la famille Dong, ne cessant avec la fondation de la Chine communiste en 1949.

  • Nanzhao Sanskrit

4. Variété de pratique
Il y avait trois principales façons de pratiquer A-Zha-Li: maîtres enseigner aux élèves des écritures dans le secret, et l'utilisation de mantras et formules magiques; adoption de postures et positions de la main à la pratique; et la méditation.
En plus des différents textes bouddhistes, nous savons que les bouddhistes de Nanzhao et Dali chéri sorts et incantations de toute nature, et à toutes fins. Beaucoup ont été gravés sur des ardoises de pierre et impressionné sur l'argile et de briques.Plus tard, les mantras et les sorts ont été gravés sur bois et imprimés sur du papier. Cette pratique remonte probablement au 9ème siècle dans Nanzhao. Fait intéressant, ces mantras et les sorts ont été écrits en sanskrit. Dans le reste de la Chine, la maîtrise du sanskrit était le domaine de seulement quelques personnes choisies instruits, tandis qu'autour de Dali, il semble que les liens avec l'Inde et la compréhension du sanskrit ont été maintenues.

  • Dali Azhali funeral

5. rituels de mort
Les pratiques A-Zha-Li a également inclus mort et l'enterrement des rituels, pour guider le défunt sur la bonne voie vers le nirvana. Même aujourd'hui, cet aspect de la tradition est bien conservé et joue un rôle fondamental dans les rites funéraires de Bai.

  • Yunnan tea horse road map - Shaxi Old Theatre Inn

6. hybride de la religion apparaît
Bouddhisme dans les royaumes Nanzhao et Dali était pas exclusivement ésotérique dans la nature. Avant le bouddhisme établi et étalé dans le 9ème siècle, les populations locales ont pratiqué une plus nature et à base de spiritueux chamanisme similaire à Bon bouddhisme trouvé au Tibet. Taoïsme, une philosophie chinoise enracinée, a été fondée dans le 6ème century.some des concepts de base Dao se mélangent avec des pratiques ultérieures trop.Après la fin du royaume Dali par l'armée de Khubai Khan en 1253 l'influence de la Chine a augmenté dans la région du Yunnan. Dans la dynastie Ming et Ching confucianisme est devenu le système dominant de l'ordre social, affaiblissant A-Zha-Li.
Un autre facteur important est la route de la soie du Sud, aussi connu comme la caravane Route du Thé Cheval, qui a les commerçants et les marchands de différentes nations détenant un large éventail de croyances et de pratiques. Cela a conduit à l'enrichissement et au développement de l'A-Zha-Li, car il a fallu à bord de ces influences, ce qui reflète la diversité des peuples et de la pensée.

Quel a été l'impact de l'A-Zha-Li Bai sur la société Bai?

  • three pagodas dali yunnan china

La pratique A-Zha-Li ésotérique bouddhiste était très répandue au cours de la seconde moitié du 9ème siècle et a prospéré jusqu'à la fin du royaume de Dali en 1253. Un chercheur chinois Xu Xiake visiter la région avant la chute de Dali décrit la pratique bouddhiste comme ' commune dans chaque foyer, peu importe qu'ils soient pauvres ou riches, il y a un espace de rituel bouddhiste dans les salons chaque famille de. Peu importe qu'ils soient jeunes ou vieux, tout le monde porte un talisman avec eux. Il y a beaucoup de jours réguliers tout au long de l'année où les gens rapide ou de ne pas manger de la viande ou de boire de l'alcool. Le nombre de temples et de monastères visibles sur les versants est incalculable.'

A-Zha-Li et de la politique
A-Zha-Li a participé directement à la vie politique de la région. La gouvernance et la religion sont devenus un. Zhang Jie Tor Duo a été nommé stratège du royaume après son mariage avec la sœur du roi. Notamment des 22 rois du royaume de Dali, neuf ont donné leur vie royale et se retira dans les monastères de vivre une vie monastique moines ordianed.
A-Zha-Li pratiques étaient une partie essentielle de l'identité locale et une source de conseils en turbulence, parfois en conflit, avec des rituels tantriques effectuées pour fournir une aide surnaturelle dans la bataille.

A-Zha-Li et de l'économie
Des dons importants et les terres ont été faites pour construire et maintenir des monastères et des temples de la famille royale. Les monastères et temples également eu lieu de grandes portions de terres et des richesses recueillies. Dans Dali, le temple Trois Pagodes seul avait 890 bâtiments, avec 11.400 statues bouddhistes constitués de 20,295 kilogrammes de cuivre.

A-Zha-Li et de la culture et de l'éducation
Les moines et les monastères est devenu le premier système scolaire, tutorat auprès d'élèves d'apprendre les textes bouddhistes et confucéens enseignements classiques. Toutes les formes d'art, dont des peintures, l'architecture et la sculpture montrent une forte influence de l'A-Zha-Li.

Pourquoi A-Zhal-Li n'a déclin?

  • Bai women pray in Dali

Following the conquering of Dali kingdom in 1253 by Kublai Khan, for the first time Yunnan becomes included on maps as part of Greater China. This marked the end of the independent kingdom. After this historic event, A-Zha-Li faced many challenges and gradually declined in strength and prominence. Several reasons for this were because the new ruling class – Chinese – forbid the open practice of A-Zha-Li and sought to reduce its practice and power. The Qing government also suppressed the A-Zha-Li practice, describing it as 'not true Buddhist, not true Daoism, and not true Confucianism, so it confuses and misleads ordinary people to wrong ideas', causing social instability and anarchy. The form of Tantric Buddhism was also frowned upon, particularly as monks were allowed to have families, eat meat and drink wine.
The Zhengde emperor banned A-Zha-Li in 1507. Zen Buddhism became popular and also led to the decline of A-Zha-Li, as well as the dissemination of Confucianism by the Ming dynasty. These pressures pushed A-Zha-Li from the ruling and upper classes to common people, where it became a folk religion. Fortunately the ordinary Bai people's preservation of A-Zha-Li and its blending with other religious practices and beliefs kept it alive through the centuries.

Shaxi Old Theatre Inn
Duan Jia Deng Village, Shaxi Town
Jianchuan County, Dali, Yunnan, 671302, China
+86 872 4722 296

Esoteric Buddhism in the Dali region

Ancient religious traditions meet at the Pear Orchard Temple

  • 石钟寺 - 慈荫庵 之路- 云南沙溪

Dali has a unique form of Tantric Buddhist practice called Acarya, which dates back to the 9th century, traces its origins to India, and features prominently the goddess of mercy Acuoye, represented at Shibaoshan's grottoes carved 1,100 years ago.

Where did it come from?

  • 纳西天坛之路 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

Buddhism originated in northern India in the 5th century B.C.E., tracing its roots back to Siddhartha Gautama, typically referred to as the Buddha. Over its 2,500 year history Buddhism has evolved and spread throughout Asia, with three main branches of the tradition: Theravada (in south-east Asia), Mahayana (in north-east Asia) and Vajrayana (in Tibet).

Buddhism came to Dali along the Tea Horse Road, also known as the Southern Silk route, which linked India, Tibet and south-east Asia.

Dali played a key role in the spread of Buddhism from India to China, and its Nanzhao (738-902) and Dali (937–1253) kingdoms were notable for preserving Buddhism and also constructing large temples including the Dali Three Pagodas and Shibaoshan grottoes near Shaxi, which became important centers for Buddhist teaching.

According to ancient documents, a mystic Indian monk called Zhang Tor Jie Duo is credited with bringing Buddhism to Yunnan's Nanzhao kingdom in 840. From the 9th century onward to the end of the Dali kingdom in 1253, a brand new powerful branch of Tantric Buddhism formed and developed into a kingdom-wide religion.

Later, Zhang Tor Jie Duo became regarded as a manifestation of the 'lord of compassion' Acuoye Avalokitesvara (dubbed the Dali Guan Yin or goddess of mercy), who is the main religious figure worshiped throughout Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms.

The Acarya branch of Tantric or Esoteric Buddhism originated from India, and it was mixed with where in its early stages was fused with Brahmanism, the early priestly religion in India which evolved into Hinduism.
Acarya belongs to the Mahayana tradition of Buddhism. Mahayana Buddhism was a more liberal, accessible interpretation of Buddhism, open to people from all walks of life, not just monks or ascetics.

Acarya is a Sanskrit word, meaning teacher or victorious, and in Dali it became known by the Bai minority term 'A-Zha-Li'. A-Zha-Li initially referred to the master who conducted rituals and ceremonies of this branch of Buddhism, but later the name was used to locals to refer to this practice.

What is unique about Acarya Tantric Buddhism?

  • Acuoye Avalokitesvara 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

1. Devotion to Acuoye
Many Buddhist cults developed during the almost five centuries of the Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms, but Acuoye Avalokitesvara in various forms was the dominant figure and the focus of devotion. One of the reasons for this was the key role of Acouye in both political and spiritual affairs. There was a strong linkage between the rulers of the Nanzhao kingdom and Acuoye in establishing both state and religion, with Acuoye featuring in the founding stories of the kingdom, helping legitimize the royal line.

According to folk stories, Acuoye arrived in the Dali area even before the establishment of the Nanzhao Kingdom, appointing its first ruler and providing protection for the kingdom. There was a belief that the royal lineage was approved by Acuoye, and that the rulers and their descendants were related to Acuoye. The ruling class built the iconic Three Pagoda temple in honor of Acuoye.
Acuoye is regarded as the first god to manifest to bring Buddhism to the Bai people, but there is debate about where Acuoye actually came from. While many scholars think Acuoye is just another manifestation of the Mahayana bodhisattva from India, there is conjecture that this figure of compassion came from south-east Asia instead. Some researchers speculate that Acuoye came from Malaysia or Indonesia, when in the 9th century one of Nanzhao kings received a bride from 'the realm of Kunlun'.

  • 大黑天神 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

2. Black Sky god
While Acuoye holds a central position in A-Zha-Li, other cults of Esoteric Buddhism developed under the Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms, including protective and wrathful divinities. Second only to Acuoye in popularity and devotion is Mahakala, the Black Sky god in Chinese, a divine demon and protective deity for Acarya Tantric Buddhism. Makakala is in fact the manifestation of the Hindu god Shiva. Throughout the Dali region many villages regard him as their local protector, or 'ben zhu'.

  • Feng Yi Village Erhai Dali

3. Unique role in society and inheritability of status
While many Buddhist traditions required a separate life for religious disciples from lay people, A-Zha-Li practitioners were able to get married and maintain a normal family life. One of the reasons for this might be traced back to the establishment of Acarya in Dali, with Nanzhao king Qu Feng permitting his sister to marry Indian missionary Zhang Tor Jie Duo who brought Tantric Buddhism to the region in 840 AD. A-Zha-Li masters and their descendants were able to continue this lifestyle with its integration into normal life. In Feng Yi village near the Erhai lake this bloodline tradition lasted for 42 generations among the Dong family, only ceasing with the founding of Communist China in 1949.

  • Nanzhao Sanskrit

4. Variety of Practice
There were three main ways of practicing A-Zha-Li: masters teaching students from scriptures in secret, and using mantras and magic spells; adoption of body postures and hand positions to practice; and meditation.
In addition to the various Buddhist texts, we know that the Buddhists of Nanzhao and Dali cherished spells and mantras of any kind, and for any purpose. Many were engraved on stone slates and impressed onto clay and bricks. Later, mantras and spells were engraved on wood and printed on paper. This practice probably dates back to the 9th century in Nanzhao. Interestingly, these mantras and spells were written in Sanskrit. In the rest of China, mastery of Sanskrit was the domain of only a few select educated people, while around Dali it appears that the links with India and understanding of Sanskrit were maintained.

  • Dali Azhali funeral

5. Death rituals
The A-Zha-Li practices also included death and burial rituals, to guide the deceased along the right path to Nirvana. Even today this aspect of tradition is well preserved and plays a very fundamental part in the funeral rites of Bai people.

  • Yunnan tea horse road map - Shaxi Old Theatre Inn

6. Hybrid of religion appears
Buddhism under the Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms wasn't exclusively Esoteric in nature. Before Buddhism established and spread in the 9th century, the local people practiced a more nature and spirit-based shamanism similar to Bon Buddhism found in Tibet. Daoism, a Chinese-rooted philosophy, was founded in the 6th century.some of the Dao core concepts get mixed with in later practices too. After the end of the Dali kingdom by Khubai Khan's army in 1253 the Chinese influence increased in the Yunnan region. In the Ming and Ching dynasty Confucianism became the dominant system for social order, weakening A-Zha-Li.
Another important factor is the Southern Silk route, also known as the Tea Horse caravan route, which brought traders and merchants from different nations holding a wide range of beliefs and practices. This led to the enrichment and development of A-Zha-Li, as it took on-board these influences, reflecting the diversity of peoples and thought.

What was the impact of A-Zha-Li on Bai society?

  • three pagodas dali yunnan china

The A-Zha-Li Esoteric Buddhist practice was quite widespread during the second half of the 9th century and flourished until the end of the Dali kingdom in 1253. A Chinese scholar Xu Xiake visiting the region before the fall of Dali described Buddhist practice as 'common in every household, no matter whether they are poor or rich, there is Buddhist ritual space in every family s living rooms. No matter whether they are young or old, everyone carries a talisman with them. There are many regular days throughout the year when people fast or refrain from eating meat or drinking alcohol. The number of visible temples and monasteries on hillsides is uncountable.'

A-Zha-Li and politics
A-Zha-Li participated directly in the political life of the region. Governance and religion became one. Zhang Tor Jie Duo was appointed as strategist of the kingdom after his marriage to the king's sister. Notably of the 22 kings of the Dali kingdom, nine gave up their royal life and retreated to monasteries to live a monastic life as ordianed monks.
A-Zha-Li practices were a vital part of local identity and a source of guidance in turbulence, warring times, with Tantric rituals carried out to provide supernatural aid in battle.

A-Zha-Li and economics
Large donations and land were made to build and maintain monasteries and temples by the royal family. The monasteries and temples also held large portions of land and collected wealth. In Dali, the Three Pagodas temple alone had 890 buildings, with 11,400 Buddhist statues made up of 20,295 kilograms of copper.

A-Zha-Li and culture and education
Monks and monasteries became the first schooling system, tutoring students to learn Buddhist texts and classic Confucian teachings. All the artforms including paintings, architecture and carving show strong influence of A-Zha-Li.

Why did A-Zhal-Li Decline?

  • Bai women pray in Dali

Following the conquering of Dali kingdom in 1253 by Kublai Khan, for the first time Yunnan becomes included on maps as part of Greater China. This marked the end of the independent kingdom. After this historic event, A-Zha-Li faced many challenges and gradually declined in strength and prominence. Several reasons for this were because the new ruling class – Chinese – forbid the open practice of A-Zha-Li and sought to reduce its practice and power. The Qing government also suppressed the A-Zha-Li practice, describing it as 'not true Buddhist, not true Daoism, and not true Confucianism, so it confuses and misleads ordinary people to wrong ideas', causing social instability and anarchy. The form of Tantric Buddhism was also frowned upon, particularly as monks were allowed to have families, eat meat and drink wine.
The Zhengde emperor banned A-Zha-Li in 1507. Zen Buddhism became popular and also led to the decline of A-Zha-Li, as well as the dissemination of Confucianism by the Ming dynasty. These pressures pushed A-Zha-Li from the ruling and upper classes to common people, where it became a folk religion. Fortunately the ordinary Bai people's preservation of A-Zha-Li and its blending with other religious practices and beliefs kept it alive through the centuries.