沙溪戏台会馆
四联村段家登
沙溪, 云南, 671302, China
+86 872 4722 296

大理佛教

慈阴俺古老传统宗教

  • 石钟寺 - 慈荫庵 之路- 云南沙溪

大理有个独特而神秘的佛教徒,俗称阿查尔亚,这要追溯到9世纪,起源于印度,为了突出观世音菩萨的重要性,1100年以前就展示在石宝山的石窟了。

起源地来自那里?

  • 纳西天坛之路 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

佛教在公元前5世纪起源于印度的北部,其根源需追溯到乔达摩·悉达多,他被称为释迦牟尼佛。佛教在其2500年的历吏发展遍布亚洲,三种主要的小乘传统佛教主要流传于东南亚国家,大乘佛教主要在东南亚北部和西藏的藏传佛教。

佛教从茶马之路传入大理,又名丝绸之路,与印度,西藏与东南亚相连。

从印度传入中国的佛教在大理扮演着重要的角色,值得注意的是在南诏和大理王国时期就已经开始了对佛教的何护及构造大的寺庙,其中包括大理的三塔和沙溪石宝山的石窟,都成为了佛教重要的教学中心。

根据历吏文载记录,佛教是由一个叫Zhang Tor Jie Duo的印度神秘僧人在公元840年传入云南诏王国。从9世纪前到公元1253年南诏王国末,一个崭新而强大的佛教在王国时期形成和发展为最广泛的宗教。

后来Zhang Tor Jie Duo被称为“慈悲之主”观世音菩萨(也称为大理观音或是观音菩萨),整个南诏和大理王国最受人欢迎的宗教人物。

最早的佛教起源于印度,在初期阶段与婆罗门教融合,最早的祭司宗教在印度演变成了印度教。

阿查尔亚属于传统大乘佛教,大乘佛教是佛教中比较自由,容易让人理解的一种,对各行各业的人开放,不仅仅是僧人与道家才可以有的信仰。

Acarya是梵文,意思是老师或胜利,'A-Zha-Li'在大理变成闻名的术语,最初A-Zha-Lii是指对进行佛教的仪式的大师,后来这个名字被当地人用来作为俗称。

Acarya密宗佛教的独特之处是什么?

  • Acuoye Avalokitesvara 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

1. 对菩萨的信仰

许多佛教徒产生于南诏和大理王国五世纪期间。但是Acuoye观世音菩萨在很多方面被佛教徒认为是很重要的人物并受到信徒们的热爱。这是因为Acouye在政治和精神信仰上有着重要的角色。南诏王国统治者和Acuoye建立的政治和宗教两者之间有着密切的关联,Acuoye为王国创建佳话起到了重要的作用,并帮助使其合法化。

根据民间故事,Acuoye到达大理在南诏王国建立之前,任命为王国的首位统治者并受到其保护。人们坚信皇室血统是经Acuoye批准,皇室统治者和他们的后代都与Acuoye有关。因此统治阶段建造了三座佛塔以表示对Acuoye的尊敬。Acuoye被认为是第一位为白族人民带来佛教的神明,但是人们对于Acuoye来自那里有着不同的争议。很多学者认为Acuoye是来自印度的大乘佛教菩萨,也有推测认为这位‘’慈悲之主‘’是来自东南亚马来西亚或印度尼西亚国家,在9世纪一位南诏的国王得到一位来自昆伦王国的新娘。



  • 大黑天神 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

2. 黑天神  

虽然Acuoye在宗教中持有中心地位,密宗佛教的一些其它教派在南诏和大理王国时期也开始发展,包括保护神和愤怒神。受欢迎程度仅次于Acuoye之后的是大黑天护法神,中文称大黑天神,一位为密宗佛教神圣的保护神。实际上大黑天神就是印度神湿婆。许多大理地区的村庄都称他为本地保护神,或是‘本主’。

  • Feng Yi Village Erhai Dali

3. 在社会和遗产文化中有着独特的角色
虽然许多佛教徒的宗教生活方式与俗人的生活方式不同,然而信奉于密宗教的人士是充许结婚并能保持着平常人的家庭生活。其原因要追溯到Acarya在大理的建立时期,南诏国王曲锋充许他的妹妹与一位来自印度的传教士成婚,在公元840年他为大理带来了密宗佛教。密宗佛教的大师和他们的后代可以延续这种生活方式使其与平常人的生活融为一体。这种传统种系在洱海边冯彝村庄的懂族家庭中持续了42代,直到1949年新中国成立才得以停止。

  • Nanzhao Sanskrit

4. 不同的练习方法
练习密宗佛教有三种主要途劲:大师以秘密的方式传授经文给学生,使用祷文和拼写咒语;采用身体姿势和手的位置练习和冥想。

除了各种佛教徒的文献,我们还了解到大理和南诏的佛教徒出于任何目的对各种祷文的珍爱。许多被刻在石板,粘土和砖块上。后来,祷文和符咒被刻在木头上并用纸打印。这些练习可能要追溯到南诏9世纪。有趣的是,这些祷文和符咒是用梵文写的。在中国其它地方精通梵文的只有在一些重要的区堿或是受过教育的人,似乎大理周边被保留下来的梵文与印度有关联。

  • Dali Azhali funeral

5. 死亡仪式
密宗佛教的实践还包括死亡和埋葬仪式,引导死者沿着对的路通往天常。即使今天,这个传统也被保留得很好,在白族的葬礼上一些基本的部份仍然在使用。

  • Yunnan tea horse road map - Shaxi Old Theatre Inn

6. 混合宗教出现
事实上佛教在南诏和大理王国时期不仅仅只有密宗佛教。在9世纪佛教建立和传播之前,当地人练习一种更自然并以精神为基础的萨满教,此教类似于起源于西藏的笨教。道教,中国的哲学,成立于公元6世纪。一些核心道教在后来的实践中也被混合了。公元1253年Khubai可汗军队在大理王国结束之后,中文在云南区堿的影响讯速提高。在明清时代儒家文化在社会上占主导主位,削弱了密宗佛教。

另外一个重要的因素是南方丝绸之路,也称为茶马古道之路,它带来许多不同国家的贸易商,这些商人有着各种各样的信仰和实践经验。这导至密宗佛教的丰富发展,在车载方面受到一定的影响,这反映了民族和思想的多样化。

密宗佛教在大理有着什么样的影响?

  • three pagodas dali yunnan china

在9世纪下半叶时期密宗佛教徒相当广泛并且一直繁荣至1253年大理王国末期。中国学者徐霞客在大理没落之前拜访了这个地区,这里的家家户户都信佛教,无论他们贫穷或是富有,每家每户的客厅都留有为信徒做仪式的空间。他们每个人身上都会带着一个护身符,无论男女老少。一年当中有很多规定的斋日,在这些日子,人们会吃斋和控制他们的钦食。在山上有着数不胜数的庙宇和修道院。

密宗佛教与政治

密宗佛教直接参与当地的政治生活,统治与宗教合二为一。Zhang Tor Jie Duo与国王的妹妹成婚后被任命为王国的战略家。显然,大理王国的22位国王之中有9位放弃了皇室生活,退隐到修道院修道并过着僧人的生活。在战争动荡时期,本地身份的密宗教徒在资源和指导方面起到了得要的作用,在战争中提供了极大的援助。

密宗佛教与经济

大部份捐款和土地用来建造和维护寺庙和修道院是由皇室家庭提供。修道院和寺庙还持有大部份的土地和财富。在大理,三座寺塔各自拥有890栋建筑,11,400佛像由20,295公斤铜造成。

密宗佛教与文化教育

僧侣和修道院成为第一个教学体系,辅导学生学习佛教和儒家文化。所有艺术包括绘画,建筑学和雕刻演义,这些对密宗佛教有着非常大的影响。

为什么密宗佛教会衰退?

  • Bai women pray in Dali

在公元1253年大理王国被Kublai可汗征服之后,云南首次出现在大中华的地图上。这表示独立王国的结束。此历吏事件之后,密宗佛教还面临许多挑战并在势力下逐渐衰退。导致这样的原因是中国人新的统治阶级禁止人们信奉密宗佛教并企图削减他们的权力。清政府还镇压密宗佛教的信徒,对他们描述这是不正确的佛教,不是正确的道教也不是正确的儒家思想,所以这误导和扰乱普通人的想法,让他们认为这是一种错误的思想,会导致社会不稳定和混乱。密宗佛教的形式也不对,如僧侣可以拥有家庭,吃肉和喝酒。

在公元1507年密宗佛教被正德皇帝禁止了。禅宗佛教的流行加上明朝儒家思想的传播使密宗佛教日渐衰退。这些压力使密宗佛教从上流阶层变成了普通人,从而转变成了民间信仰。幸运的是白族民间的人把密宗佛教和其它宗教的理念混为一体,整个世纪密宗佛教得以保存下来。

Shaxi Old Theatre Inn
Duan Jia Deng Village, Shaxi Town
Jianchuan County, Dali, Yunnan, 671302, China
+86 872 4722 296

Esoteric Buddhism in the Dali region

Ancient religious traditions meet at the Pear Orchard Temple

  • 石钟寺 - 慈荫庵 之路- 云南沙溪

Dali has a unique form of Tantric Buddhist practice called Acarya, which dates back to the 9th century, traces its origins to India, and features prominently the goddess of mercy Acuoye, represented at Shibaoshan's grottoes carved 1,100 years ago.

Where did it come from?

  • 纳西天坛之路 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

Buddhism originated in northern India in the 5th century B.C.E., tracing its roots back to Siddhartha Gautama, typically referred to as the Buddha. Over its 2,500 year history Buddhism has evolved and spread throughout Asia, with three main branches of the tradition: Theravada (in south-east Asia), Mahayana (in north-east Asia) and Vajrayana (in Tibet).

Buddhism came to Dali along the Tea Horse Road, also known as the Southern Silk route, which linked India, Tibet and south-east Asia.

Dali played a key role in the spread of Buddhism from India to China, and its Nanzhao (738-902) and Dali (937–1253) kingdoms were notable for preserving Buddhism and also constructing large temples including the Dali Three Pagodas and Shibaoshan grottoes near Shaxi, which became important centers for Buddhist teaching.

According to ancient documents, a mystic Indian monk called Zhang Tor Jie Duo is credited with bringing Buddhism to Yunnan's Nanzhao kingdom in 840. From the 9th century onward to the end of the Dali kingdom in 1253, a brand new powerful branch of Tantric Buddhism formed and developed into a kingdom-wide religion.

Later, Zhang Tor Jie Duo became regarded as a manifestation of the 'lord of compassion' Acuoye Avalokitesvara (dubbed the Dali Guan Yin or goddess of mercy), who is the main religious figure worshiped throughout Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms.

The Acarya branch of Tantric or Esoteric Buddhism originated from India, and it was mixed with where in its early stages was fused with Brahmanism, the early priestly religion in India which evolved into Hinduism.
Acarya belongs to the Mahayana tradition of Buddhism. Mahayana Buddhism was a more liberal, accessible interpretation of Buddhism, open to people from all walks of life, not just monks or ascetics.

Acarya is a Sanskrit word, meaning teacher or victorious, and in Dali it became known by the Bai minority term 'A-Zha-Li'. A-Zha-Li initially referred to the master who conducted rituals and ceremonies of this branch of Buddhism, but later the name was used to locals to refer to this practice.

What is unique about Acarya Tantric Buddhism?

  • Acuoye Avalokitesvara 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

1. Devotion to Acuoye
Many Buddhist cults developed during the almost five centuries of the Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms, but Acuoye Avalokitesvara in various forms was the dominant figure and the focus of devotion. One of the reasons for this was the key role of Acouye in both political and spiritual affairs. There was a strong linkage between the rulers of the Nanzhao kingdom and Acuoye in establishing both state and religion, with Acuoye featuring in the founding stories of the kingdom, helping legitimize the royal line.

According to folk stories, Acuoye arrived in the Dali area even before the establishment of the Nanzhao Kingdom, appointing its first ruler and providing protection for the kingdom. There was a belief that the royal lineage was approved by Acuoye, and that the rulers and their descendants were related to Acuoye. The ruling class built the iconic Three Pagoda temple in honor of Acuoye.
Acuoye is regarded as the first god to manifest to bring Buddhism to the Bai people, but there is debate about where Acuoye actually came from. While many scholars think Acuoye is just another manifestation of the Mahayana bodhisattva from India, there is conjecture that this figure of compassion came from south-east Asia instead. Some researchers speculate that Acuoye came from Malaysia or Indonesia, when in the 9th century one of Nanzhao kings received a bride from 'the realm of Kunlun'.

  • 大黑天神 - 慈荫庵 - 云南沙溪

2. Black Sky god
While Acuoye holds a central position in A-Zha-Li, other cults of Esoteric Buddhism developed under the Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms, including protective and wrathful divinities. Second only to Acuoye in popularity and devotion is Mahakala, the Black Sky god in Chinese, a divine demon and protective deity for Acarya Tantric Buddhism. Makakala is in fact the manifestation of the Hindu god Shiva. Throughout the Dali region many villages regard him as their local protector, or 'ben zhu'.

  • Feng Yi Village Erhai Dali

3. Unique role in society and inheritability of status
While many Buddhist traditions required a separate life for religious disciples from lay people, A-Zha-Li practitioners were able to get married and maintain a normal family life. One of the reasons for this might be traced back to the establishment of Acarya in Dali, with Nanzhao king Qu Feng permitting his sister to marry Indian missionary Zhang Tor Jie Duo who brought Tantric Buddhism to the region in 840 AD. A-Zha-Li masters and their descendants were able to continue this lifestyle with its integration into normal life. In Feng Yi village near the Erhai lake this bloodline tradition lasted for 42 generations among the Dong family, only ceasing with the founding of Communist China in 1949.

  • Nanzhao Sanskrit

4. Variety of Practice
There were three main ways of practicing A-Zha-Li: masters teaching students from scriptures in secret, and using mantras and magic spells; adoption of body postures and hand positions to practice; and meditation.
In addition to the various Buddhist texts, we know that the Buddhists of Nanzhao and Dali cherished spells and mantras of any kind, and for any purpose. Many were engraved on stone slates and impressed onto clay and bricks. Later, mantras and spells were engraved on wood and printed on paper. This practice probably dates back to the 9th century in Nanzhao. Interestingly, these mantras and spells were written in Sanskrit. In the rest of China, mastery of Sanskrit was the domain of only a few select educated people, while around Dali it appears that the links with India and understanding of Sanskrit were maintained.

  • Dali Azhali funeral

5. Death rituals
The A-Zha-Li practices also included death and burial rituals, to guide the deceased along the right path to Nirvana. Even today this aspect of tradition is well preserved and plays a very fundamental part in the funeral rites of Bai people.

  • Yunnan tea horse road map - Shaxi Old Theatre Inn

6. Hybrid of religion appears
Buddhism under the Nanzhao and Dali kingdoms wasn't exclusively Esoteric in nature. Before Buddhism established and spread in the 9th century, the local people practiced a more nature and spirit-based shamanism similar to Bon Buddhism found in Tibet. Daoism, a Chinese-rooted philosophy, was founded in the 6th century.some of the Dao core concepts get mixed with in later practices too. After the end of the Dali kingdom by Khubai Khan's army in 1253 the Chinese influence increased in the Yunnan region. In the Ming and Ching dynasty Confucianism became the dominant system for social order, weakening A-Zha-Li.
Another important factor is the Southern Silk route, also known as the Tea Horse caravan route, which brought traders and merchants from different nations holding a wide range of beliefs and practices. This led to the enrichment and development of A-Zha-Li, as it took on-board these influences, reflecting the diversity of peoples and thought.

What was the impact of A-Zha-Li on Bai society?

  • three pagodas dali yunnan china

The A-Zha-Li Esoteric Buddhist practice was quite widespread during the second half of the 9th century and flourished until the end of the Dali kingdom in 1253. A Chinese scholar Xu Xiake visiting the region before the fall of Dali described Buddhist practice as 'common in every household, no matter whether they are poor or rich, there is Buddhist ritual space in every family s living rooms. No matter whether they are young or old, everyone carries a talisman with them. There are many regular days throughout the year when people fast or refrain from eating meat or drinking alcohol. The number of visible temples and monasteries on hillsides is uncountable.'

A-Zha-Li and politics
A-Zha-Li participated directly in the political life of the region. Governance and religion became one. Zhang Tor Jie Duo was appointed as strategist of the kingdom after his marriage to the king's sister. Notably of the 22 kings of the Dali kingdom, nine gave up their royal life and retreated to monasteries to live a monastic life as ordianed monks.
A-Zha-Li practices were a vital part of local identity and a source of guidance in turbulence, warring times, with Tantric rituals carried out to provide supernatural aid in battle.

A-Zha-Li and economics
Large donations and land were made to build and maintain monasteries and temples by the royal family. The monasteries and temples also held large portions of land and collected wealth. In Dali, the Three Pagodas temple alone had 890 buildings, with 11,400 Buddhist statues made up of 20,295 kilograms of copper.

A-Zha-Li and culture and education
Monks and monasteries became the first schooling system, tutoring students to learn Buddhist texts and classic Confucian teachings. All the artforms including paintings, architecture and carving show strong influence of A-Zha-Li.

Why did A-Zhal-Li Decline?

  • Bai women pray in Dali

Following the conquering of Dali kingdom in 1253 by Kublai Khan, for the first time Yunnan becomes included on maps as part of Greater China. This marked the end of the independent kingdom. After this historic event, A-Zha-Li faced many challenges and gradually declined in strength and prominence. Several reasons for this were because the new ruling class – Chinese – forbid the open practice of A-Zha-Li and sought to reduce its practice and power. The Qing government also suppressed the A-Zha-Li practice, describing it as 'not true Buddhist, not true Daoism, and not true Confucianism, so it confuses and misleads ordinary people to wrong ideas', causing social instability and anarchy. The form of Tantric Buddhism was also frowned upon, particularly as monks were allowed to have families, eat meat and drink wine.
The Zhengde emperor banned A-Zha-Li in 1507. Zen Buddhism became popular and also led to the decline of A-Zha-Li, as well as the dissemination of Confucianism by the Ming dynasty. These pressures pushed A-Zha-Li from the ruling and upper classes to common people, where it became a folk religion. Fortunately the ordinary Bai people's preservation of A-Zha-Li and its blending with other religious practices and beliefs kept it alive through the centuries.