沙溪戏台会馆
四联村段家登
沙溪, 云南, 671302, China
+86 872 4722 296

在慈荫庵祈福后获得的"奇迹婴儿"

第一章:Nam,Chris和他们的孩子 Natalie Barclay

  • Chris&Nam

2007年,Chris和Nam 在经历6个月远跨中国和泰国清迈的恋爱后,步入了婚姻的殿堂。当时Chris在广州有一家很成功的团队培训机构,有一次,客户邀请他去泰国清迈做一个为期三天的领导力培训。当他在清迈的时候遇到了Nam,他取消了第二天飞回中国的机票,这样他就可以和Nam一起共度周末。他回到中国的两个星期后,Nam飞到中国来和他共度周末,在两个星期之后,Chris又前往泰国清迈去与Nam会面。这是一段旋风般的浪漫爱情,最终,Chris卖掉了他在广州的公司和住所,搬到了清迈。这对新婚夫妇一起在龙眼园附近买了一座美丽的房子。

2008年8月Nam怀孕了,此时,Chris43岁,Nam44岁。2009年5月,Nam生下了一个女儿,Natalie Grace Barclay。

  • L1000022 (Large)
  • L1000093 (Large)
  • L1000253 (Large)

Natalie出生时伴随着黄疸,但和其他的亚洲婴儿不同,尤其是那些母乳婴儿。黄疸刚开始很轻微,但是在Natalie出生的第二个月仍没有减轻。Chris和Nam带着她做了很多测试。结果显示,Natalie的肝脏无法正常工作,所以她们开始尝试药物疗法。几周之后,她的肝功能没有得到改善,她被诊断患有一种严重的疾病,被称为胆道闭锁。由于肝脏无法分解毒素,导致毒素沉积在血液中。医生建议通过搭桥手术创建一条新的通路,将肝汁排至肠道。

  • Nat in Chiang Mai 9 15 09 (Large)
  • Nat in Phuket 8 09

Natalie在四个月时搭桥手术成功,术后恢复的很好。

  • Natalie post-op 8 22 09 (Large)
  • L1000416 (Large)

但手术后的测试表明,她的肝功能虽然暂时提高了,但仍不够完善。于是她又开始了一个药物疗程,希望这有助于改善她的病情。这时候她已经五个多月大了,随着时间的推移,她的肝功能开始逐渐下降。医生估计如果要继续治疗,她就需要进行肝脏移植作为最后的手段,Chris 和 Nam 开始为此做准备。

  • Nat 9 1 09 Chiang Mai (Large)

当她六个月大的时候,她的肝功能开始衰竭,由于寻找捐赠者需要很长时间,Chris决定捐赠他自己的部分肝脏。非常幸运的是,他的血型和组织与Natalie完全匹配。手术安排在2009年12月上旬,此时Natalie的情况开始恶化——她的肚子开始肿胀,眼睛发黄,快速失去体重。

  • L1000752 (Large)

Chris全家搬进了清迈一家医院,手术也将在那里进行。手术团队有过处理此类情况的杰出案例,手术将持续8个小时。

  • L1000773 (Large)
  • L1000789 (Large)

手术初步成功,Chris和Natalie的身体都在康复中。但是不到24小时,Natalie被发现大脑中很深的区域有血块,这导致颅内压力升高。唯一释放颅压的方式是立刻手术打开颅骨,取出血块。这时血块导致的颅内压升高已经使得Natalie陷入昏迷,只能靠机器来维持生命。几个小时之后,医生带来了令人心碎的消息,小Natalie已经呈植物人状态,并且不会再恢复。Chris和 Nam 认同了医生的观点——以这种不确定的方式留住她是不正确的。最终,医生断开了她的生命维持设备,年仅7个月的Natalie离开了人世。

  • L1000856 (Large)
  • L1000829 (Large)
  • L1000894 (Large)

Shaxi Old Theatre Inn
Duan Jia Deng Village, Shaxi Town
Jianchuan County, Yunnan, 671302, China
+86 872 4722 296

A Shaxi temple and the "Miracle Baby"

Chapter 1: Nam, Chris and Natalie Barclay

  • Chris&Nam

Chris and Nam Barclay were married in Guangzhou China in 2007 after a 6-month courtship between Chiang Mai Thailand and China. Chris was living in Guangzhou having started a successful corporate training company in 1996. In 2007, a client invited him to Chiang Mai to run a three-day leadership workshop. While staying in Chiang Mai, Chris met Nam and canceled his ticket back to China the next day so he could spend the weekend with Nam. Two weeks after he was back in Guangzhou, Nam came to visit for the weekend, then Chris went to Thailand for a visit two weeks after that. It was a whirlwind romance that ended up with Chris selling his business and townhome in Guangzhou to move to Chiang Mai, where the newlywed couple bought a beautiful new home in the longyan orchards just South of the city.

At that time, Chris was 43 and Nam 44 and by August of 2008, Nam was pregnant. The pregnancy went normally and in May 2009, the couple gave birth to a daughter, Natalie Grace Barclay.

  • L1000022 (Large)
  • L1000093 (Large)
  • L1000253 (Large)

Natalie was born with jaundice, not uncommmon for Asian babies especially if they are breast-fed. The jaundice was mild at first and after it didn't fade in her second month, the couple took her in to run some tests. The results showed that Nat's liver wasn't functioning properly, so she was started on a drug regimen to improve this. After a few weeks, her liver function had not improved and she was diagnosed with a serious condition known as biliary atresia, where the liver cannot drain, causing toxins to build up in the blood. Doctors recommended that she have a liver bypass surgery known as a Kasai procedure, to drain the liver directly into the bowel.

  • Nat in Chiang Mai 9 15 09 (Large)
  • Nat in Phuket 8 09

She had the bypass surgery in her fourth month and she recovered well.

  • Natalie post-op 8 22 09 (Large)
  • L1000416 (Large)

But tests after surgery showed that she had only improved temporarily and that her liver function was still not good. So she was started on a regimen of drugs, hoping that this would help improve her condition. By this time she was over five months and as the weeks went on, her liver function began to decline. Doctors estimated that if it continued, she would need a liver transplant as a last resort, so Chris and Nam began to prepare themselves for this. 

  • Nat 9 1 09 Chiang Mai (Large)

By her 6th month, her liver began to fail, so instead of taking time to look for a donor, Chris volunteered to donate a section of his liver, and luckily, his blood and tissue type was a perfect match for Natalie. Surgery was planned for early December 2009 as Nat's conditioned worsened - her belly swelling, eyes yellowing and losing weight rapidly.

  • L1000752 (Large)

The family settled into the hospital in Chiang Mai where the surgery would take place. The surgical team had an outstanding success record for this procedure, which would take over eight hours.

  • L1000773 (Large)
  • L1000789 (Large)

The surgery was initially successful and both Chris and Nat were in recovery. But within 24 hours, Natalie had developed a blood clot deep in her brain which caused her brain to swell. The only way to relieve this pressure was to open her skull and remove part of her brain in an emergency procedure. By this time, the blood clot had caused her to fall into a coma where she could only be kept alive by machines. Hours after the procedure, the surgeons gave the couple the terrible news that Nat was unresponsive and would not recover. Chris and Nam agreed that it would not be right to keep her this way indefinitely, so they disconnected her from life-support and at only 7 months, Natalie passed away.

  • L1000856 (Large)
  • L1000829 (Large)
  • L1000894 (Large)